Deleting old Users

Hi everyone,

I need to delete old employees/users from my SambaPOS. I have been running SambaPOS for 3 years and I have over 300 employees in the system.

I don’t mind having tickets without employee/user names

@emre, any chance you can fix this. We should be able to delete former employees/users.

Thank you

It’s not a SambaPOS issue the system is working as intended. You may make a feature request but it’s unlikely v5 will get more updates. You can rename them to something that truncates them to end.

Thanks Kendash.

Is SambaPOS releasing a new version? Emre has not been active in awhile, which I assume he is working hard on next release. :slight_smile:

He is working on the next version but it will be a while before we see anything. SambaPOS the company is making a lot of changes to how it does business. The forum is no longer it’s source of communication as far as features or even support is concerned. I think they are moving into more traditional pos realm and away from forum. I could be wrong though.

1 Like

Old trick to delete users by renaming them is not longer working. I tried deleting, but I get an error. I know this used to work before.

You never could delete them. Just rename like put xxx on end to signify it’s old and allowing you to use original name again for someone else.

Wow that is bad. Unless they can write up user manual but then it will be less flexibility. I’ve been using SambaPOS since v2.9 I like it because it has active forum.

1 Like

Greetings,

You could open the database through SQL Management Studio, and inside the Table Payments, you could run an update query to change the UserID to an existing users’ id, and then try deleting the old users.

Somil

If you delete it by SQL you will end up unable to that open ticket and crash SambaPOS.

we are not Deleting any records, but just Updating the Userid field