[RESOLVED] Blank lines returned in customer search

I’ve attached a screenshot so that you can see the build version I am using. I’ve been running for 3 months without a problem until now. Was working, shut down, restarted (different day), now not working.

I’m not sure if the issue is clear or not. When I type “Walk” in the customer search, I usually expect two results to populate the window (“Walk-in Customer” and “Walk-in 2”). …but now I see two blank lines.

If I select the top one, the ticket is opened and I see “Walk-in Customer” at the top.

As far as I can tell, the only thing affected is this result list.

I’ve restarted SambaPOS [maybe] 6 times and restarted the entire computer twice. There doesn’t appear to be any Windows (8.1) updates waiting to be installed or part-installed. I am familiar with many troubleshooting techniques, but I don’t see what could be the problem here.

Best guess is that it may be a problem character in the data such as an apostrophe or something that is breaking the select code. I’m not sure how I can diagnose that though.

Anyone have any ideas?

Many thanks,

James

Hmmmm, I can see the word “Phone”. I didn’t spot that before. So, question is why is that there and where is “Name”?

Go to your user dir/mydocuments/SambaPOS4 and delete the Layout dir. Restart SambaPOS see if that fixes it.

Those views are customizable you can actually drag and drop columns… someone probably accidentally dragged the Name column out and dropped it.

Deleting the Layout dir will reset it… you could also right click where it says phone and try adding the column back manually but honestly just deleting Layout dir is faster… Samba will regenerate it with default layout when you restart.

PS if you don’t use Phone Numbers for those Entities just take Phone out of the Entity Type. Go to Entity Type and then Custom Fields and delete the Phone Custom Field.

Really? I had to wait 3 minutes for someone to come up with an answer?