Tax and Tax Exempt for SambaPOS 4

Hi,

I am new to SambaPOS 4 and am having a hard time configuring the proper 8.1% (Las Vegas, NV, USA) Sales Tax included onto the check. The only tutorial I have found is for an earlier version (SambaPOS 3). Is there another tutorial available for my version?

Also, We have many customers in our extablishment who are Tax Exempt. Is there a way to create a button for these situations?

Thanks for any help! Let me know if there is any information I should clarify.

-Lori
Huntridge Soda Fountain

Hi,

I was able to set up proper tax to be included on ticket for SambaPOS 4, but am still having problems finding a tutorial on creating a tax exempt button.

We have many organizations who frequent our diner who are tax exempt. Is there a way to take Taxes of their ticket?

Any help is very much appreciated. Thank you!

-Lori
Huntridge Soda Fountain

I know @na1978 has done this. But it is part of a Pre-built DB… there is no Tutorial on how to set it up manually, nor how it functions, other than it is implemented through a button. Maybe he will see this post, and chime in.

Ok, I looked into it, and this would be my approach.

Create a new Ticket Type in Tickets > Ticket Types. You can right-click your current Ticket and select Clone Ticket Type, then supply a name for the clone (i.e. Tax-Exempt Ticket).

Go to Products > Tax Templates > [TaxName] > Mappings and set all your Taxable Products to use only your original Ticket Type.

Create an Action of the type Change Ticket Properties, and set the Ticket Type parameter to your new Tax-Exempt Ticket Type.

Clone the Action you just made, but this time, set the Ticket Type parameter to your original Ticket Type.

Create an Automation Command button to control the Ticket Type.

Create a Rule to handle the Automation Command for switching to Tax-Exempt.

Clone the Rule and change it to handle the Automation Command for switching to Taxable.