Disabling "Cancel" Button When a Partial Payment is Made

Hello,

I am new to Samba and I have a problem. Here is the scenario:

1. The cashier takes the order from the customer.
  2. The cashier clicks on “Settle” button.
  3. The cashier enters a partial amount then clicks “Cash”
  4. The cashier clicks on Close.
  5. The system will display the ticket as “New Orders” still.
  6. The cashier select items and then clicks on “Cancel” button.

In this case, the cashier received the money and then cancelled the order. The ticket will not be stored in the database and even the transaction and payments will not be in the system. Therefore, I don’t know that the cashier received the money.

Is there a way to disable the “cancel” button in the order screen when a partial payment is made?

I believe I can add new state called “Partially Paid” and when a partial payment is made the state changes to “Partially Paid” and the cancel button is disabled. However, I am new to this and it would be great if you can show me how to do that step by step.

Thank you very much.

Make a new payment processed rule to add a new custom ticket state for partially paid then constrain the rule for cancel to not happen if the New custom ticket state is set.

Well if your person is doing this to steal money they will just find another way to do it. If they are determined to do it you wont be able to prevent it until you fire them. If you can not trust your cashier to handle money then dont let them handle money. Trying to restrict this through a POS is almost always a waste of time. Instead start logging what they do with payments so you can have documentation when you do fire their butts.

2 Likes

Kendash is right, I mean they could just add up the orders in their head and just ring in one item and cash off and keep difference and there is no way from EPOS side to prevent that other than trustable staff.