Going Live with Tablets Tomorrow

Well tomorrow we are finally going live with our RDP iPads at the Redesdale. The main hotel where my day job is… :grimacing:
This will be a real test of the setup. We have similar at Horse & Groom already but it’s no where as busy as Redesdale.
RDP route has been taken for a few reasons two main ones being my preference over Windows tablet where loss of connection etc doesn’t result in lost unsaved data as RDP just resumes from where it was before given host PC being hardwired.
Other that we have allot of order added automation and custom commands which make it easier to have full samba vs Android app etc.
50% excited 50% ancious
Will report back next week with results.
Also next week is Cheltenham Gold Cup horse races meaning we have a full hotel for whole week and will be extra busy. One of the busiest weeks of the year. So they will get a pretty thorough testing off the bat LOL.

2 Likes

Wish you a good luck!
I use a similar setup (server PC at bar, kitchen and back office PC’s, 3 printers + one portable and 3 RDP android phones connected to the bar pc) for the same reasons - no data lost in case of a connection error, automation required during order taking and (!) full samba experience for ticket settlement with a printer at your waist :slight_smile:
We have some very busy days during summer and we had no issues.

1 Like

The setup there is;

Headless Server, runs SQL, message server and my PMS integration scripts.

2 fixed terminals in the bar with receipt printers

2 tablets (iPads with RDP to headless PC(s) in network cupboard with server)

2 kitchen printers, hot and cold side of kitchen on network.

1 coffee/tablet receipt printer in still room on network

Kitchen orders from terminal or tablet print to both kitchen printers.
Drinks orders on tablet or for specific tables (restaurant) if rung in on fixed till print to the Receipt printer of EPOS2 till. (No drinks to be taken to table without drinks order)