Help with Script - MS Word

Hi I am doing some testing with Scripts. I have a Script which opens a Word Document.

function OpenWord(){
var fso = new ActiveXObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject");
var objEditor = new ActiveXObject("Word.Application");
objEditor.Visible = true; 
//objEditor.Documents.Open("C:\\Temp1\\test2.docx");
var doc = objEditor.Documents.Add ();
    var sel = objEditor.Selection;
    sel.TypeText("This is Text inputed to word");

}

I want to send Customer details like Name, Address, Email, Phone etc. to the word document. This is my first attempt at Scripts. Would I need create another script to get the customer information from Sambapos and then call that script from the above script.

I know there is probably easier ways to do this but I want to learn about scripts. Could someone give an example of how I would pass customer details to the script. When I run the above script Word opens and has the Text “This is Text inputed to word”

You will need to look at the SambaPOS JScript API helpers for api.Entity()

… like these:

api.EntityType(name).Entities().State(name).Update(value);
api.EntityType(name).Fields(name).Exists();
api.EntityType(name).Fields(name).Create(fieldtype,[format],[valuesource],[hidden]);

api.Entity(name).State(name).Update(state);
api.Entity(name).State(name).Get();
api.Entity(name).Data(name).Update(value);
api.Entity(name).Data(name).Get();
api.Entity(name).Exists();
api.Entity(name).Create(entityTypeName);
api.Entity(name).CreateAccount([accountName]);
1 Like

Hi I tried below but I am getting.

api.Entity(Test Customer).Data(Email).Get();

The best overloaded method match for 'Samba.Services.Implementations.ExpressionModule.Accessors.ApiService.ApiServiceAccessor.Entity(string)' has some invalid arguments

I was reading @JTRTech Update rooms Scritpt and he was doing it like below but I get Customers is undefined.

api.Entity(Customers).Data(Test Customer).Get(Email);

'Customers' is undefined