How to import a prebuilt database into sambapos

Hello, I’m new to samba POS and I was interested in using a prebuilt database specifically the one labeled “Quick Service/Tables: Food/Retail Setup - Advanced Refunds | Aborts | NonTax Functions” however this file downloads as a zipped file with a .BAK type file in it. I purchased the database tools and databasebackup modules in the hopes that I could use them to import the database but I believe the files need to be modified first. I am really very lost with all of this and would love to be able to use sambapos in a retail setting. Any help on the matter would be greatly appreciated.

They do not need to be modified but pay attention to the version of SambaPOS listed and the version of SQL server used both of those have to be the same as what your using. Once you import it and get it working you can upgrade to newer versions of Samba and it will auto update the database.

Yea I downloaded and installed the proper version. My issue is more with the method of importing the database. I copied the zipped file into the database backup folder but it wont let me restore from it. I tried using the import tool also but it just says it imported but no changes followed. Is there a proper way to put the files into the backup folder or am I looking at the whole thing in the wrong way?

@lambo1216 backup zip files should named properly to appear in the list. You can create a backup and you can rename zip file to replace that file.

For next version I’ll add Open Zip File function to backup module for easier solution. Thanks.

2 Likes

Ok so I created a backup file and replaced it with the downloaded zip folder renamed and all. But an error showed up and the system closed out. Upon restarting sambapos I get the error “An error occurred while initializing the database. See the innerexception for details.” I looked through all of the folders I could find for samba but cant find anything related to innerexception.