I am New to Samba, anyone willing to point me in the right direction? I have limited knowledge in database programming

Hi All,

This is my very 1st time using Samba POS, I have a colleague with a small restaurant/ bar.
Samba doesn’t appear to be a buy off the shelf, ready to install system, or is it? I’ve purchased a Samba POS 5 license. Where should i start? is there a manual available?

Start with this and a lot of reading

2 Likes

No manual, there is so many ways to do things its hard to have a manual and the point of samba is that you make the system to suite you rather than an off the shelf system where it does a and thats it, with samba you can customise to make it to B, C, D even Z :wink:

Beginner advice…

Start with a single machine as a testing platform, just install basic samba, posibly if your feeling bold as a starter download and install SQL as youll need it if you intend to have a multi terminal setup. (Depending on your internet - its probably worth putting it on to download now if slow connection, its a big download :slight_smile:)

Tick the install sample data on install to give you somewhere to start.

• Search, read and practice;

Product & Menu
Adding Product
Adding that product to the menu
Product Portions
Product tags (more relivent to food but generally usefull)

Tickets & POS Screen
Ticket Tags
Automation Command Buttons <-- BIG ONE
Entities <-- BIG ONE

Do a few basic tutorials, even if you don’t intend to use them for learning experience.
Recommend basic starter tutorials… (am on phone so links are tricky but quick search and youll get them)
Basic automation

• Fast Cash payment buttons (Good to understand Automation Command Buttons and basic automation)
  • Print LAST Bill button (Demo of program settings)

When feeling more comfortable something like switch user (logout another user without paying a ticket/setting an entity AKA Hold ticket and others)