I love SambaPOS 5!

Today is my big day as I am about to deploy my SambaPOS 5, say, tomorrow!

The power of the software is amazing, the general idea how Emre makes it into somewhat a program generator is a great thing for people who are technically inclined. However, this software is not for the faint heart who are just an end user and expect to run off the shelf. You need a lot of tweaking and experience/knowledge of it. But once you fit the category of technically inclined and willing to “program”, this is definitely POS of the choice.

As some leaders in the forum have said, if you are end users, you SHOULD place an ad in the forum to have some experienced solution providers to setup your restaurant.

I am only a beginner in tweaking/programming the SambaPOS 5 and I do not know much about using rest of the more advance features like scripting, shell and so forth - actually, I barely grasped the syntax in the program and/or printer templates. I think a more organized manual would definitely improve the popularity of this software.

Well, I will be recommending this software(in fact, I should say platform because without the forum the software may be unless) to other programmers and solution providers.

I will be testing the performance from the prospective of an end user and report back. Initial impression is that it uses very little of the CPU in single user mode, a M5 CPU machine performs just a little bit faster than the a Z8700 and use less than 25% of CPU power in both machines. However, a noticeable lag is observed. Even the i7 R&D server(HP x360 laptop) with SSD I run on has a slight lagging which I attribute to the fact that this is a database operation and MS SQLExpress is not know for speed. In my next setup/experiment, I will try using MySQL to see if there is a big difference in performance.

In conclusion,