Mobile Tablets - Running windows 8

Hey Everyone,

I’ve been using SambaPOS for a few months now and really love it but im having a few issues with windows 8 tablets and connectivity to the server.

My Setup:

• i7 Server with 4GB ram connected via ethernet
  • Netgear wifi router
  • Unisoft 10" Tablet (Win 8)
  • Lenovo 7" Tablet (Win 8)
  • SQL Express 2012

The server itself doesn’t actually take orders but the tablets do all the work with one setup at a counter and the other used for mobile orders.

The question im wondering is, has anyone setup a wifi tablet setup without getting connection interruptions to the server?

About 2-3 times a day i find the tablets lose connection to the server for one reason or another and the application need to be restarted.

One thing i did notice (and implemented an attempted solution today) is that when i lose connection to the server and open a command prompt and ping the server, the first two responses time out and then the connection comes back alive for the last 2 response. This happens consistently.

I wrote a small script today that will ping the server on a regular basis in an attempt to keep the connection alive, but i guess i’m wondering what are your experiences?

(also aware that the netgear router is probably lacking, but i would like to change that as a last resort)

Hmm, I have had an issue that is similar to this but with another pos I was dealing with a while back. In my assumption, your tablets are directly connecting to the server and have samba installed on the windows tablet (So your not doing RDP).

The way I resolved my issue was by fixing the static ip settings. You need to go change the range in which the router will hand out IP adresses to a range that will not include your ip of the tablets and server with samba. You also need to go in windows settings and set a static ip for each tablet.

Heres a case scenario:

Kitchen Printer Static IP: 192.168.1
Server Static IP; 192.168.1.2