Multiple sites, licensing and reports

Hi,

I have 6 restaurants. What I would like todo is have them all linked to a central database which runs on a VPS and have the restaurants (vpn) tunnel into them. I can do this already but I would run into licensing issues since the term clearly state I need to buy a licence per restaurant and if I have all sites connected to a central database I can’t do that anymore.

Also I would like the reporting tools expanded to accomodate this situation. I would like to tunnel into the same database from my office and print out reports. This way I can do my bookkeeping daily instead of having to wait till the dossier is sent back to me.

I would not recommend that setup. You are totally relying on your internet connection for this to work.

Yes I know, at all my restaurants we have fiber internet and also backup ADSL and 4G modems as alot of things (EFT being to most important) depend on us having connections.

Hm first let me say that I’m still a newbie in both SambaPOS and SQL Server so I might not really know what I’m talking about. But if your main focus is to ‘daily instead of having to wait till the dossier is sent back to me’, and already got VPS and VPN setup in place then wouldn’t it be less complicate(set-up wise) to do the SQL query route and generate/merge reports from each external databases ?

Also you get to make sure each restaurant get to run locally, so it’s easier to daignose when something breaks (i.e. if the printer stops printing it somepoint, you know it’s not internet related)

Or perhaps you already know that but wants to use SambaPOS reporting features (Or perhaps my idea don’t work) then I’m out of clue XD (replication of all DBs merged into one for reporting purpose at central site, maybe? but does MSSQL even allows that :P?)

It is one licence per DATABASE, if you could successfully run setup in this way the licence would work.