Single Menu Item Tax Exemption

Hi there,

Please be gentle, I am a noob to Samba and coming into running a business that has been using it for two years - but no one knows how to modify it, the person who installed it no longer works here, and so I’m trying to teach myself. I don’t doubt there is an answer to this somewhere - I have searched and used forum guides to get as far as I am with my issue, and they’ve been very helpful in learning SambaPOS but now I am stuck and can’t find the answer.

Here’s the outline:

In Ontario (and on our restaurant menu), any food & beverages totaling $4 or less sold in a restaurant receive only 5% tax. Any total over $4 receives 13% tax.

I have the tax templates, transaction types and rules for this all set up, no issues there.

However, I have added gift certificates to our menu and they should not receive any taxes. The taxes will be paid when the gift certificates are used, not when they are initially bought.

So - I set up a new 0% tax template and transaction type to apply to the new gift certificate menu button. I mapped the template to only apply to gift certificates on our menu.

The problem is, the 5% and 13% rules are under the “Ticket Total Changed” section. So when I punch in a gift certificate, SambaPOS applies the 0% tax rule, but then (I presume) since the ticket total is over $4, it adjusts the ticket total to apply 13% tax to everything.