Ticket Tag Update Batch - SQL Syntax

Good morning!

I have to (correct) update the CPN ticket tag of my first 600 tickets.

I have a table with CPN Ticket Tag corresponding to Ticket Number, like this:

Tkt Nº TT:CPN
101 B001-90
107 B001-92
109 B001-91
110 B001-93
111 B001-98
112 B001-99
113 B001-100
115 B001-104
117 B001-102
118 B001-103
119 B001-101
120 B001-113
121 B001-106
122 B001-105

I would like to make a script that would be executed once (Pressing Test - below the script)

Could you help me to start?

What is the SQL UPDATE syntax to update TT:CPN where TN=x?

Thank you.

Ticket tags are stored in json if I remember correctly so would need to use the JSON support added in sql 2016 or make jscript a little more complex.

1 Like

I installed SQL Server 2016, basic install, don’t know if JSON is “activated” but I’ve seen a post where it explains how to activate, so should not be a problem for DB.
However I have no experience with JSON in scripts …

Me neither, q probably best person.
Used json in scripts but for external API not the SQL feature.

I did something similar to this a few days ago. Do you know the table name and column names of the data you want to change?

No, that’s is actually my problem: I don’t know where and how are stored the Ticket Tags.

I have the couples (X,Y) where X are the ticket number and Y the ticket tag I want to update.
If somebody could show me the SQL syntax to:

"UPDATE [¿which Table?] SET [¿TicketTag:CPN?]='Y' WHERE [¿TicketNumber?]='X'"

(I doubt it will be that simple)

It won’t be that simple.
Ticket tags I think have a single column on ticket table from memory and are stored in json. Ie a json array per ticket with all ticket tags within it

I think the table you are looking for is probably ‘Tickets’. The column that holds the ticket tags is ‘TicketTags’ and there is another one “TicketNumber”. You can check this is what you want by using the simple query
SELECT TicketNumber,TicketTags from Tickets