Need help setting up RDP

HI I’m new to SambaPos and am trying to set up my system. Have been looking through the community threads and couldn’t find the answer to my question. I’m running Windows POS Ready on an atom based computer at the shop and have the 5.1.62 installed. I’m trying to install 4 tablets two for the waiters one for the Bar and one for the kitchen as a kitchen display.

We are a sit down restaurant. Could some one please point me in the right direction. I’m sure this question has been answered before but I couldn’t find the solution to it.

Thanks heaps in advance.

They are not windows tablets?

Firstly you are going to want a server or rather better spec machine acting as a server an atom based epos machine will struggle to host DB for multi terminal setup.

You’ll also need either Windows tablets or or there is tablets and an RDP server or multiple PCs for tablets to RDP to.

Or you wait for the android/iOS apps to come out or take a look at PMPOS / the samba API and make a web app.

Nope I wanted to use preferably android tablets about 7" or 8" in screen size. I like the idea of PM POS.

Also we use Gloria Foods to get online orders. Not sure if that is integratable at the moment.

Thanks JTRTech for the prompt response. Love your tutorials. Keep up the good work.

RDP is expensive. You need Windows server OS and licenses for RDP. Expect to pay around $3000-4000 or more just on your licenses and server software.

Pmpos will not require RDP and is the best route but it is not ready yet.

As have reconmended in past if RDP is preferred solution then cheaper option on purchase (not electricity in long run) is multiple small form factor PCs.
I will be using iPads with RDP untill PMPOS or IOS app is final and will use a small form factor dell PC (arround £50-60 on eBay as a headless RDP host machine - one per iPad)
I use these machines for my terminal tills aswell.
Dell Optiplex USFF 780 (3Ghz C2Duo 4GB RAM and small HDD)