Difference between services and discounts

When designing my ticket printer template, what is the difference between the transactions that appear as [SERVICES] and [DISCOUNTS]?

I currently have a bunch of rounding, credit card surcharge and cashback transactions and occasionally a discount. The rounding transactions correctly appear as SERVICES, but the Cashback and credit card surcharges are appearing as discounts, which makes designing my receipts difficult.

I am using this guide to add the cashback:

They are however you define them, service and discount are calculations, each calculation type has a field for its transaction type.
Im not a pro with calculations but you should be able to set them up all as independent transaction types and even in to different account types if you really wanted, its pretty flexible.

PS, either reopen a topic or start a now one - not both :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

Sorry! - I’ve deleted the other one.

Yes, I can see that, and I have various transaction types created, but I don’t se a field where I set it as a service or discount - could you point me in the right direction?

Found this after searching quite a bit. This is the only explanation I have seen, but it does explain the exact reason why some Calculations are “Discounts” while others are “Services”.

So…

Discounts = Calculations before Tax
Services = Calculations after Tax

1 Like

Ahhh - Thanks @QMcKay - I did try a lot of searching, but I guess I was looking in the wrong places…

Yes, it was very difficult for me too to find that. I read through a lot of posts before I came across that one. The search phrase I used that finally came up with that is:

service discount print sections

But now with the Title of your Topic, people should find this easily. Makes a good reference for the Forum.

More information:

Interesting, never really looked in to it.

@mjb2000 an alternate idea you might want to try if you cant get the layout you want…