SambaPOS hardware requirements

Hi good people,

I am new to SambaPOS and I am planning to use it for my cafe. I am thinking of using on Desktop PC as main POS and 2 tablets (Android) as peripheral POSes for the waiters.

-Do I need also a server as an addition to the Desktop PC or the Desktop PC can do the work of the server as well. If yes what should be the CPU and RAM to support the solution?
-Do I need access points for the tablets (mobile POSes) or they can communicate throught WiFi?

I would appreciate much if you could explain me some things about the physical layout of the solution with 2 mobile POS and 1 Desktop POS.

Thanks in advance.

Emmanouil Tritsiniotis

1 Like

Hey Emmanouil,

I recently setup a similar situation and some of the people on this forum were kind enough to share their knowledge, so ill do my part.

Based on my testing i would see there being no problems with using SambaPOS on what will act as the server and having the Tablets connect to that server via WiFi.

I would recommend not skimping on hardware and investing in good quality equipment both for the server, router/accesspoint and tablets. Otherwise you may experience some slowness and dropouts in your system (which im sure you dont want).

For my setup i used a Cisco Router/AP (SRP 547w) as well as lenovo and toshiba tablet (had trouble with a chea unisurf, ended up returning it). I also opted for win 7 tablets as a personal preference. I believe android tablets (not 100%) will connect to the server via RDP, which could work well, but in my experience comes with a bit of lag.

For my server i opted for an i7 with 8GB of ram connected to the network via ethernet for stability.

Everything is running smoothly. If you need any more information, let me know and id be happy to take you through my experience.

1 Like

Hi Barchie,

Thanks for the analytical and fast response. I will summarize what I understood from your case and if you find something wrong please correct me.